Venice: The Islands of Alleyways and Stairs

I have really enjoyed my short time I had in Venice! I was able to be by the water, wander the streets, and finally FINALLY see the stars after not seeing them since Taize! (Note: I love being able to look up and see the stars. My dad and I would spend nights looking up at the stars throughout my childhood and still do today) I felt really happy during my time in Venice and it is certainly a place I would visit again. There weren’t a ton of itinerary items for me on this visit, but I enjoyed the freedom that gave me. (Really, that is how I like to travel – partially planned and partially free.) Continue reading for my most recent escapades in my grand Italian adventure!)

19114628_10203432587452969_1677794099_n

19073353_10203432596413193_1192793215_o

Rialto Bridge

The Rialto bridge is considered an architectural icon of Venice. The bridge was completed in the late 1500s and is one of four bridges that cross the Grand Canal. It is a beautiful bridge that as great views of the canal. In the middle of the bride, there is a corridor that is filled with small shops and stands to browse.

19073216_10203432587332966_1475214373_o

St. Marks Basilica

Of course, we had to make a stop at St. Mark’s Basilica! Both the inside and the outside of the Basilica are covered in ornate and beautiful mosaics. The inside of the Basilica absolutely sparkled. I returned to the Basilica later in the evening and got some neat views of the exterior of the Basilica as the sun went down. Also at night, the lights turn on in the courtyard outside the Basilica and the restaurant in the courtyard all play live music. It was a bit ‘Battle of the Bands’ – esque as each band tried to outplay the other. The three of us sat at the base of the tower near St. Marks and just listened to the music and chatted and people watched. It was a great way to end the evening!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Vaporetto Ride on the Grand Canal

This is like the poor woman’s version of the Gondola ride! For 8 euro I was able to go on a boat that acted as the town’s public transportation and ride the entire canal in 75 minutes. It was a BLAST. I was able to be on the water, see the building of Venice in a unique way and have time to just hang out and enjoy myself for 75 minutes! All while on a nice little budget J I highly recommend this! I stayed on the open deck portion for the whole trip. While I was terrified I would drop my phone into the murky green waters of Venice to be lost forever, I was still able to catch a few images of the trip through the canal. I am starting to think I need to work much harder to convince my dad we should get a little fishing boat or kayaks or something. I love being on the water!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Reflections on Venice

Venice was incredibly good to me. It’s a city that teaches a person (in my opinion) to roll with things. It is inevitable to get lost in Venice, no matter how well you navigate. (Although, I did pretty great in my humble opinion 😉 ) Venice also showed me to slow down and just enjoy what was around me. I am getting reminded of this a lot since Taize. Not having constant access to wifi has been really good for me. I have had a lot of time to just think. Think about my future, about goals, about steps towards those goals.

Well, enough of the seriousness. I am bound for Florence now! Only 18 more days to soak up Italy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

